Churros with chocolate sauce

Difficulty 2/5

So my story with churros is one of terror and despair. I was looking for an egg-less churro recipe as are original Spanish churros. I tried two that supposedly worked and they both failed me! The amount of flour that it had was so much that it was impossible for the water to absorb it and I ended up with endless goops of useless dough. In the end I gave up (on those recipes) and decided to go with my own proportions, and after two tries I got it!! I like to pipe them nice and thin so they’re not so doughy and definitely with chocolate sauce to dip in 🙂

Portions: 50 skinny churros

Ingredients:
For the churros:
– 500ml water
– 250g all purpose flour
– 1 tsp salt
– 1/2 tbsp sugar
– 1 lt vegetable oil to fry

To coat:
– 100g suga
– 100g powdered cinnamon

For the chocolate sauce:
– 300g dark chocolate couverture
– 300g milk
– 50g sugar

Procedure:
1. For the churros, put in a pot the water, sugar and salt and make it boil. But REALLY BOIL. Once it’s bubbling away, we put in all the flour at once and lower the heat to minimum, stirring energetically with a wooden spoon (it’s thick, so a plastic spatula will bend). When a dough has formed and it starts to unstick from the pot, then it’s done. Remove the dough prom the pot and let it cool.img_31302. While it’s cooling we can do the chocolate sauce. Put everything in a pot and on minimum heat stir with a whisk constantly so it doesn’t burn. You will see that you first have small lumps but then they will start to melt. When a couple of bubbles start coming up signaling that it’s about to start simmering, turn it off. If it boils the chocolate burns.img_31283. If you have a churrera (it makes the next process that much easier) it’s now time to fill it and use it. If you’re like me and you don’t have one, we put the dough in a piping bag with a star nozzle of the thickness you prefer. I recommend that you don’t fill the piping bag too much as it’s a thick dough and if you fill it up too much it makes it a lot more difficult. We make strips and we put them on a tray or clean surface. You’ll notice that because the dough is sothick, you can carefully pick them up to put them in the oil later.img_31334. Heat the oil. It can take a good 10min to actually reach the temperature you want. Be extremely careful when you put them into the oil; don’t toss them from too high or it will splash you. Ideally, actually dip them a bit and then let go. Here, the temperature of the oil depends on the thickness of the nozzle you used to pipe:
– If you’re making them thick, you want the oil to be on med-low temperature so the center gets o cook before the outside burns. They will take about 4min to cook.
– If you’re making them in a medium thickness (so a bit thicker than mine), medium heat. They will take 2-3min to cook.
– If you’re making them skinny like me, medium-high heat. It will take 1-2min to cook.
The best thing you can do is to make one and assess how it came out. If it’s raw inside and already golden outside, the oil is too hot. If a while goes by and it’s already cooked inside (not “gooey anymore”) but it’s not golden outside, you oil is too cold. Just remember that after you adjust the temperature, you need to wait a good 5min for the oil to adjust to it.img_31295. When you take them out, put them on kitchen paper to absorb the excess oil and then toss them in the sugar and cinnamon mix.
img_3134

Done! You’ll love this recipe and I SWEAR it works, I won’t let you go through a traumatic deception like I did hahaha. Bon appetit!

img_3140img_3161img_3142img_3152img_3147img_3158img_3148img_3170img_3145follow-me-para-posts

Published by

Chef Lorena

Hello! My name is Lorena Salinas and I’m a chef. I absolutely love to cook and eat. Discovering new techniques, styles and ways to apply it to things that I already know gets me really excited. I really look forward to seeing people cook my recipes or even make them better than I originally did. Welcome to my food world! For info and collaborations e-mail cravingsjournal@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

