Granola with nuts and honey bunches

Difficulty 1/5

In case you haven’t noticed, I LOVE breakfast. And I don’t know if you know, but I’m lactose intolerant. It’s not that bad, but the one thing that’s hard for me to tolerate is yoghurt. But as the world goes on, there’s now LACTOSE FREE AND SOYA YOGHURT! So yoghurt has made a comeback in my life and now I eat it all the time. What I love most is to have it with berries and granola in my breakfast 🙂 So now I bring you my recipe for granola with honey and nuts. The honey makes the granola bunch up and I LOVE that. Try it 🙂

Oh and if you love the kitchen towel featured in these pictures, it’s by a SUPER TALENTED girl called Carla and she makes design fabric items for your kitchen, home, electronics, and everything with a minimalistic and amazing design. You can browse her stuff in her Etsy shop here: https://www.etsy.com/shop/COLASHOME; she does worldwide shipping 🙂

Portions: 350g granola

Ingredients:
– 50g almonds
– 50g Brazil nuts
– 50g hazelnuts
(These 3 can be replaced by your favourite nuts: peanuts, pecans, walnuts, whatever you like!)
– 150g rolled oats (by no means use the pre-cooked or “cooked in 3min” types)
– 70g honey
– 40g melted butter
– 1/8 tsp salt
– You can also like, if you like, you can add dries fruits (raisins, apples, cranberries, etc)

Procedure:
1. Toast your nuts in the oven at 140C for 10min or until you see that they’ve gone a bit golden, but not too much because then they’re going back in with the rest. Toasting them enhances their flavour and will also make it easier for you to cut them.
img_2993_12. I sliced the Brazil nuts and almonds, and cut in half the hazelnuts. The idea is that they have a nice size so that you can get a piece of everything in a spoonful. Be careful with your fingers when cutting them!img_2994_1img_2995_1img_2997_13. Mix the nuts with the oats and on another bowl mix the honey, melted butter and salt. At this point you can also add to the liquids cinnamon, ginger, vanilla, or any flavouring you like. Then mix the dry and wet.
img_2998_1img_3000_14. This goes on an oven plaque at 150C until you see that everything is nice and golden. Mine took 20min, and midway I took it out and gave it a stir. Then, to get the honey bunches I love so much, press everything down ass soon as it comes out of the oven and let it cool completely. Then take it apart with a spoon or your fingers and store it in an airtight container 🙂
img_3001_1

Breakfast is served! I love how the combination of nuts and honey work in this recipe…. I’m in love! And like I said in the ingredient list and throughout the recipe, you can change the recipe to include your favourite nuts and flavourings so it’s just the way you like it 🙂img_3040img_3026img_3047img_3051img_3030img_3024img_3039img_3034img_3037follow-me-para-posts

Published by

Chef Lorena

Hello! My name is Lorena Salinas and I’m a chef. I absolutely love to cook and eat. Discovering new techniques, styles and ways to apply it to things that I already know gets me really excited. I really look forward to seeing people cook my recipes or even make them better than I originally did. Welcome to my food world! For info and collaborations e-mail cravingsjournal@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

