30min Raisin scones

Difficulty 1/5

I’ve been living in England for more than a year now and one of the things I love the most is its tea times. I think the idea of eating small pies, pastries, sandwiches and … SCONES in the middle of the afternoon is a brilliant idea. And all this accompanied by a lovely tea. So yeah, I had to do a scone recipe, and this one takes only 30min. I’ve eaten a whole bunch and this one is really nice because even if it’s crumbly (as it should) it’s not dry but nicely moist in the middle, which I achieved on the second try of the recipe after some tweaks. Also, I love the sweetness of the raisins in this dough, but they are completely optional 😉

Portions: 8-10 scones

Ingredients:
– 250g flour
– 40g sugar
– 1 tbsp baking powder
– 1/2 tsp salt
– 80g unsalted butter
– 1 egg
– 80ml milk
– 70g raisins (optional)

Procedure:
1. Sieve and mix the dry ingredientsimg_18262. Cut the butter (just out of the fridge) in cubes.
img_18273. If you have a food processor, put all of it in there until they are nicely mixed. If you don’t, then pinch the butter between your fingers with the flour. What this does is covers the flour in butter, making the dough crumbly when cooked. Stop when there are no pieces of butter left and it looks like sand. It’s important for the butter to be cold, and if you star to feel that the heat from your hands is starting to melt it, wash your hands and put the bowl in the fridge in the meantime for it to get hard again. Then you can continue.img_1829img_18304. Mix the milk and egg and add them to the flour mix along with the raisins. Mix with a spatula until its incorporated. Then use your hand to push down and make sure it’s well incorporated.img_18965. Roll the dough on sprinkled flour until it’s 2cm high. Then cut with a cutter. Mine has a flutted edge and was 6.8cm diameter, but you can use whichever you like.img_1898img_18996. These beauties go into the oven at 180C for 10-15min until they are nice and golden. I used baking paper at the bottom so then I’m sure they don’t stick at the bottom.img_1900

See how they are split in the middle? This is typical of scones, and that’s where you can split them with your hands to spread anything you like. In England it’s common to spread clotted cream and a berry marmalade, but to be honest, these raisin scones go great with butter and honey! Completely delicious. Let’s try them!

img_1902img_1905img_1931img_1903img_1936img_1940img_1929img_1910img_1907follow-me-para-posts

Published by

Chef Lorena

Hello! My name is Lorena Salinas and I’m a chef. I absolutely love to cook and eat. Discovering new techniques, styles and ways to apply it to things that I already know gets me really excited. I really look forward to seeing people cook my recipes or even make them better than I originally did. Welcome to my food world! For info and collaborations e-mail cravingsjournal@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “30min Raisin scones

Leave a Reply

