Cream of mushrooms

Difficulty 1/5

I looooove mushrooms! I like them with pasta, in sadwiches, with eggs, pan fried, baked, stuffed… I could continue! But I specially love cream of mushrooms. This time I used white button, shitake and portobello. What’s nice about this mix is that the first are really mild and the others have a much more concentrated flavour. The combination is amazing, and it’s even better when cooked with rosemary. ¡Yummy!

Portions: 2

Ingredients:
– 125g Shitake mushrooms
– 150g Portobello mushrooms
– 300g white button mushrooms
– 1 garlic clove
– 2 bayleaves
– 2 sprigs of rosemary
– 20ml olive oil
– 50g white onion
– milk (up to 200ml approx)
– salt and pepper to taste

Extras for garnish
– Whipping cream
– Olive oil
– Aged balsamic vinegar

Procedure:
1. Cut off the stalks of the mushrooms and slice them finely. Reserve a bit of each type and cut in small cubes so that you can then put it in the center of your cream, about 50g in total.img_18362. Cut the onion really small and grate the garlic with a fine grater or microplane. If you notice that my onion is in a container, that’s because usually when I cut half an onion or one onion, I go ahead and cut much more. Then I keep it in the fridge in an airtight container and it lasts much longer than if you cut an onion in half and it´s dry the next day.img_18403. Put the onion, bayleaf and rosemary in a pot with olive oil on medium-low heat. Cook them mixing every so often until they are translucent and soft. Then turn the heat to a minimum and add the garlic and cook for a few moments, stirring constantly so it doesn’t burn.
img_18434. Add the mushrooms with a pinch of salt and a couple tablespoons of water (no need to measure) and let them cook, mixing every so often. You’ll notice that even if it looks like a lot of mushrooms, they reduce to nothing as they let go of their humidity.
img_18455. At some point, you’ll notice that they will let go of a lot of water, and we have to wait until all of this has evaporated before going to the blender. The mushrooms themselves will still be humid, but there should be no water at the base of the pot.img_18476. Once the liquid is gone, fish out the rosemary and bayleaf (if some rosemary leaves got loose that’s OK) and we then blend. Add milk a drizzle at a time until you get a consistency you like. Adjust the level of salt and pepper while it’s still in the blender, and that’s done!img_1849
7. For the chopped mushrooms, put them in a small pot with a bit of olive oil and seasoned with salt and pepper. We need to wait again for it to release water and then evaporate. I put a spoon of this in the center of my cream, it makes a reaally pleasant contrast.img_1851img_18528. Finally, add a bit of cream, aged balsamic vinegar and olive oil and it’s ready!

I love this recipe and the best part is that you can make it ahead to take to work or simply for the next day’s lunch, or for a gloomy day 🙂 Let’s cook!

img_1873img_1891img_1874img_1878img_1892img_1883img_1889img_1879img_1882follow-me-para-posts

Published by

Chef Lorena

Hello! My name is Lorena Salinas and I’m a chef. I absolutely love to cook and eat. Discovering new techniques, styles and ways to apply it to things that I already know gets me really excited. I really look forward to seeing people cook my recipes or even make them better than I originally did. Welcome to my food world! For info and collaborations e-mail cravingsjournal@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

