Chia chocolate pudding

Difficulty 1/5

Chia is a funny little seed. When in contact with humidity, they hydrate and increase in volume, leaving a feeling similar to tapioca when you bite into them. Chia is also an amazing source of nutrients, and at the same time contains a really low calorie count.  They are also loaded with antioxidants, fibre and protein. This mix makes it helpful in the search of losing weight :O! And if this wasn’t enough for you to eat a whole kilo of these magical seeds, they help improve certain blood markers which help decreasing the chances of heart disease and type 2 diabetes. In this case we make a pudding out of them (since they soak up the chocolate milk) and top them with fruit and honey 🙂Portions: 2 250ml jars

Ingredients:
– 50g chia seeds
– 30g dark chocolate couverture (higher than 70% ideally, or 4 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder)
– 1 tsp vanilla essence
– 3 tbsp honey
– 250ml milk

Toppings:
– banana / any other fruit you like
– dark chocolate chips
– hazelnuts / any other dry fruit you like
– extra honey

Procedure:
1. Put the milk, honey and chocolate or cocoa powder in a pot over low heat until the chocolate is completely melted or the cocoa powder dissolved.img_1589img_15902. Let it cool completely and add the chia seeds. Mix with a whisk as the seeds tend to clump up when they hit a liquid. Now fill your jars 🙂

img_15913. This goes to the fridge for at least 5 hours or ideally overnight. In this time the seeds would have completely swollen up. It’s going to be ready to top with honey, fruits, nuts or whatever you like.

I hope you like this! I had it for breakfast today and I was really happy knowing how good it is for me 🙂img_1604img_1619img_1624img_1606follow-me-para-posts

Published by

Chef Lorena

Hello! My name is Lorena Salinas and I’m a chef. I absolutely love to cook and eat. Discovering new techniques, styles and ways to apply it to things that I already know gets me really excited. I really look forward to seeing people cook my recipes or even make them better than I originally did. Welcome to my food world! For info and collaborations e-mail cravingsjournal@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

