Sweet and gooey cinnamon rolls

Difficulty 2/5

I have to say cinnamon rolls are my favourite treat to go with my coffee. Years ago I used to order them in Starbucks and would LOVE them so much, and then they changed provider and now they’re dry and awful. Point is, I was aiming for those I used to like, so I actually did 3 batches and was really glad about the end result (3 time’s the charm!). I aimed for the dough to have a great taste as well as the sugar filling or if not it’s just basically a dish for melted sugar, and finally I got it :). Don’t be scared because they have yeast in them, they are actually quite easy to make and I promise you will ADORE the end result. 

Portions: 22 12cm diameter cinnamon rolls

Ingredients:
For the dough:
– 500g flour
– 1 1/2 tsp salt
– 2 1/4 tsp instant dry yeast
– 120g sugar
– 240ml milk
– 60g melted butter and cooled to room temperature
– 1 egg
– 1/2 tsp vanilla esence

For the sugar filling:
– 220g brown sugar
– 2 tbsp ground cinnamon
– 60g melted butter and cooled to room temperature

For the glaze (optional):
– 100g icing sugar
– water as needed

Procedure:
1. Mix all the dry ingredients, make a hole in the centre and add all the (mixed) wet ingredients. The milk should be lukewarm before mixing (not too hot or it will cook the eggs and kill the yeast).
IMG_0779
2. Start mixing from the centre, slowly adding the dry ingredients from the sides until you have a uniform dough. Or, you could use the hook on a standing machine to mix the ingredients. The result is a very gooey, sticky dough but if you tap it with your hand it should not stick.
IMG_0780
3. Let the dough rest for 1 hour or until it doubles its size. If it’s too cold, turn on your oven until it’s warm inside and let it puff up there.
IMG_0781
4. Dust flour on a clean tabletop and roll the dough. Every couple of rolls make sure it’s not sticking and dust more flour underneath and on top. Roll it out to 2mm thick so that you get lots of rolls instead of just a couple thick ones. Try to keep it as square as you can and then even out the edges using a knife.
IMG_0788
5. Paint the melted butter on top evenly and reach every edge.
IMG_0789
6. Mix the sugar and cinnamon together and spread it out as evenly as possible. I used a spoon to sprinkle it and then spread out any mountains of sugar by gently brushing them with my hand. Pat the sugar down so it sticks to the butter. Then start rolling: first do it carefully so it’s nice and tight and once you have the first 2 complete rolls, you can just push it (still very tightly) so it rolls to the end.
IMG_0794
7. Cut the rolls (I did mine 2-3 fingers high) and put them on a baking tray lined with baking paper at the bottom (this will help later so the sugar doesn’t stick, you’ll thank me!) and arrange them nicely. If the tips are loose, tuck them under the roll. Keep a decent amount of space between them so that they can rise in the oven without getting square.
IMG_0803
8. Let them sit for 30min (again, it helps if they’re in a warm environment) and then they go in the oven at 170C for 35min or until lightly golden on top.

IMG_0816IMG_0819IMG_0823
9. Now the glaze is completely optional and I actually think it doesn’t NEED it but it’s nice to have it hahaha. Just add water little by little to the icing sugar and mix with a whisk until you get a nice consistency and drizzle it on top of the rolls, ideally while they’re warm so it soaks in a bit.
IMG_0826IMG_0830

Serve pretty and enjoy with a cup of coffee or tea or hot chocolate!! 😀 Comment below if you like this recipe and what’s your favourite coffee treat.

IMG_0831IMG_0833IMG_0843IMG_0847IMG_0850follow me para posts

Published by

Chef Lorena

Hello! My name is Lorena Salinas and I’m a chef. I absolutely love to cook and eat. Discovering new techniques, styles and ways to apply it to things that I already know gets me really excited. I really look forward to seeing people cook my recipes or even make them better than I originally did. Welcome to my food world! For info and collaborations e-mail cravingsjournal@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Sweet and gooey cinnamon rolls”

Leave a Reply

