Cashew chicken

Difficulty: 2/5

Cashews are probably my favourite nut in the whole wide world. If there’s a dish with them on the menu, I’m ordering them for sure! This dish is really nice and fresh, I ate it with garlicky rice #peruvianstyle and it was marvelous. I promise you will love it.
Portions: 6

Ingredients:
– 2 chicken breasts, without skin
-20g cornflour
– 100g cashews
– 100g broccoli
– 1 red pepper
– 50ml vegetable oil
– 15ml sesame oil
– salt and pepper to taste
– black sesame seeds (optional)

– 2 garlic tooths
– 10ml vegetable oil
– 3 cups long grain rice
– 5 cups water

Procedure
1. For the rice, wash it throughly. Then cut finely the garlic and sweat it on low heat in the vegetable oil.
IMG_5058
2. Add the rice, salt and pepper,  and fry it for a while while stirring. The grains should turn from translucent to white. You don’t need to do this if your rice is pre-cooked.
IMG_5060
3. Add the water and let it simmer slowly with a lid on without stirring it until it’s completely dry.
4. Cut the brocoli into smaller flowers and cook them in boiling and salty water. Once the brocoli goes in, the water will stop boiling because of the difference in temperature, and when it comes back, reduce the heat to a slow simmer so that the tips don’t overcook and wilt. Once they are done, keep them out of the water.
IMG_5052
5. For the chicken, cut it in nice chucky squares so that it doesn’t dry out
IMG_5061
6. Season it with salt and pepper and toss it in the cornflour. Remove any excess. Fry it in oil until throughly cooked.
IMG_5062
7. In another pan, add the peppers (deveined and cut into squares) and toss in sesame oil until cooked. At the end add the broccoli  and chicken just to warm it up.

That’s it! I put the chicken and on top the veg and sprinkled the cashews, which I previously toasted in the oven for 5min at 200C and salted. Also sprinkled the black sesame seeds which look soooo cute! Enjoy!

IMG_5084IMG_5082IMG_5078IMG_5075
Web

Published by

Chef Lorena

Hello! My name is Lorena Salinas and I’m a chef. I absolutely love to cook and eat. Discovering new techniques, styles and ways to apply it to things that I already know gets me really excited. I really look forward to seeing people cook my recipes or even make them better than I originally did. Welcome to my food world! For info and collaborations e-mail cravingsjournal@gmail.com

One thought on “Cashew chicken”

Leave a Reply

