Give me some Ceviche!

Difficulty 1/5

SO! I’m Peruvian and extremely proud of it too (as I write this my hand is on my heart)! And so, ceviches are one of the dishes (of our many many many dishes) that we’re really proud of. This one is really close to the original version, I do twist it a bit but I really love it and I hope you do too. Peruvians in general are very secretive about their recipes, but I believe, along with a new stream of chefs from Perú, that good recipes, as well as good food, are meant to be shared, and so here it goes my recipe #nosecrets so that you can enjoy this WHEREVER YOU ARE. As I go along we’ll talk about replacement for certain ingredients or variations you could try.

Portions: 6


Ingredients:
– 3kg fish filets (I used pomfret, but any white fish works, dark ones will be a bit strong for this version of ceviche)
– Juice from 1kg of limes
– 20g celery
– 15g green onion
– 2 tbsp sugar
– salt to taste
– 1 large red onion or 2 small
– optional: 4 sweet potatoes
– optional: 2 tbsp of blended “ají amarillo”, which we cleaned and boiled for 5 minutes before blending
– optional: chili, cut in small dice + more to garnish. Could be any chilli you have at hand.
– Not in picture: parsley or coriander (I hate it, but it does have some for garnish classically LOL)

Procedure:
1. Cut the fish filets into large cubes, of about 2cm. Keep those trimmings, we’ll use them later on. Here a note about fish: for the ceviche, it’s EXTREMELY IMPORTANT to have fresh fish, ideally caught the same day. This is because the fish is only semi cooked so if there’s something wrong with it, you could get sick. Also, the fish’s meat changes as days goes by, letting some of its juices flow out, also blood gets thicket, so the texture changes quite a bit. So use fresh!
IMG_8887
2. I also cooked in water the sweet potatoes until very soft. Then I peeled them and made thick slices, but you can present it however you like. The idea is that it contrasts with the acidity of the lime.
IMG_8891
3. Juice the limes. To help you take out the juice, microwave them for 30secs. When you juice them, make sure not to squeeze all the way through or it will become bitter as you will be taking the juice from the skin. So only squeeze as long as it’s easy to do so, then stop.
4. Cut the green onion and celery roughly, and put it in a blender with half the lemon juice and half a handful of the fish trimmings. Pulse about 4 times and then pass through a sieve. You’ll have a milky white juice. Then I added the “ají amarillo” I mentioned in the ingredients list but it’s ABSOLUTELY OPTIONAL. So if you can’t get it, don’t worry. Then add salt and sugar (measurement for sugar above, but give it a taste, maybe you need more, it depends on how acidic your limes are). This bit of sugar is more important than you think 🙂
IMG_8892
IMG_8893
5. Cut the red onion into slim slices, you can was it in water if you like, it will take a bit of the punch out. Also cut the chili into small cubes and leave some more for garnish.
IMG_8889
IMG_8894
6. We’re ready to assemble the plate. Add salt to the fish quite generously and mix with a bit of the liquid, enough to coat it throughly. Then add the chili and mix as well.
IMG_8899
7. Serve IMMEDIATELY (the more time goes by, the more the fish cooks!). Overcooked ceviche is fry and tasteless, so make sure that you do this last minute. Add some more juice on top 🙂

DONE! Serve pretty and enjoy

IMG_8912IMG_8906IMG_8905IMG_8913
Web

Published by

Chef Lorena

Hello! My name is Lorena Salinas and I’m a chef. I absolutely love to cook and eat. Discovering new techniques, styles and ways to apply it to things that I already know gets me really excited. I really look forward to seeing people cook my recipes or even make them better than I originally did. Welcome to my food world! For info and collaborations e-mail cravingsjournal@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

