Christmas Special: The Mushroom Rice Pilaf

Difficulty 2/5

I have to say out of the starch options out there, my favourite remains rice. Probably because I grew up eating it and it has its way to blend flavours together, specially if there’s a sauce involved and you can actually put it on your rice (do you want some gravy on your rice?).
You can either home-make the stock for cooking the chicken (which is what I did and I will show you) or either skip the step if you’re really in a hurry and use 1 chicken cube diluted in 500ml water. However, I must say there is a difference in flavour. This stock I use for this recipe, the sweet potatoes and the turkey, so if you’re doing my whole menu, you might want to double this recipe.

Portions:4
Ingredients
For the chicken stock:
IMG_2090– 6 chicken drumsticks or wings
– 200g carrot, sliced to 1cm
– 200g onion, chopped large, approx. like the carrot
– 100g celery, chopped to 1cm sticks
– 1 bay leaf
– 1 sprig rosemary
– cold water to top up

For the rice:
IMG_2118.jpg– 250g button mushrooms, finely sliced
– 200g long grain rice
– 50g white onion, finely diced, should be smaller than the grains of rice
– 80g walnuts, slightly crushed
– 120ml white wine (I used pinot grigio)
– 300ml chicken stock (from above recipe)
– 20g butter for sweating the onions, 80g to finish at the end

Preparation

1. First we make the stock by putting everything in our large pot. Remember the water should be enough to cover the ingredients.IMG_2087
2. Let it simmer for two hours. It should not boil profusely or it will evaporate before you can do anything with it! During this time, the chicken and veg will start to release some fat, which you must remove constantly so your stock is nice and clear. I’ll leave you a before and after:


3. Once the time has gone by, pass it through a fine mesh and you’ll have your stock ready to useIMG_2107
4. Sweat onions in butter until translucent, then add the mushrooms and cook for a minute.
IMG_2119.jpg
5. Add the white wine and reduce completely so the alcohol punch leaves.IMG_2120.jpg
6. Add the rice and chicken stock and cook until dry. If you find it’s dried out and the rice is still not done, then add some water and let it cook. It should be soft but not mushy at all.
IMG_2123.jpg
7. While that’s cooking, toast your walnuts with no oil on a pan, until it starts smelling like popcorn, because it’s difficult to see then they’re done since they are golden already.
IMG_2124.jpg
8. Mix in the walnuts and butter. If you are making this ahead, add the butter after re-heating before serving so it glows :)!

Done!!! Serve pretty and enjoy!

IMG_2135

IMG_2145.jpg

Published by

Chef Lorena

Hello! My name is Lorena Salinas and I’m a chef. I absolutely love to cook and eat. Discovering new techniques, styles and ways to apply it to things that I already know gets me really excited. I really look forward to seeing people cook my recipes or even make them better than I originally did. Welcome to my food world! For info and collaborations e-mail cravingsjournal@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

